Following The Leader

by The Writer

Taking the Lead

Rarely do we find men who willingly engage in hard, solid thinking. There is an almost universal quest for easy answers and half-baked solutions. Nothing pains some people more than having to think.

Going through some old files, I found a letter I wrote to someone I admire.  It got me thinking about some of the other people in my life I see as role models, and I figured I should take a moment to acknowledge and thank them for being awesome.  More often than not, guys can be douchebags, present company included, but every now and again, we can surprise even ourselves.  And if we’ve learned nothing from Pavlov’s dogs, it is that positive reinforcement works best (that and food).

Open Letter To The Men I Admire Most,

Sitting here thinking of what I want to express to you feels insignificant and unimportant because of the impact you’ve had on my life, which you weren’t aware of.  The words, ‘thank you’ don’t seem to fill the overwhelming gratitude your guidance has given to me.

You’re one of the few men of great humility and compassion that lives with unfathomable dignity.  I worry about the man I am and the man I’ll become; those fears remain inescapable, but I’m grateful for your example of  how to be a good man, a strong man, a man who loves and is loved, an artist, a husband, a father, a provider and ultimately a complete man.  Allowing me to experience your life, frailties and all is a privilege I can’t begin to repay.

During your time here, the experiences you’ve shared have taught invaluable lessons for people of every generation, race and creed.  Your struggle gave me strength, and your story gave me hope.  My hope is to one day inspire others as you have done for me, and set an example for others to follow.  But, how does one  follow in the footsteps of a legend?

With Gratitude,

Writer

Despite the myths and suggestions of the disappearance of ‘all the good men’, I’m certain there are scores of great men still out there who are actually focused, present and genuinely good people.

Make sure you let’em know it!

