Is Everything Okay?

by The Writer

Everything is Unexceptional!

Like Mick Jagger and many others, I can’t get no satisfaction, but that’s okay, or OK, as they say in some circles.  Things are ‘satisfactory’, I’m ‘all right’, and I’ve got things ‘under control’.  When questioned, I’ll often say things are going OK! But I really mean adequate.  But when referring to someone’s ability as ‘okay’, it usually means unexceptional, though I would never say, “hey you’re unexceptional!” –That’s just cruel.

When I’m too lazy to use all four letters, or only have time to use two, or even using sign language, I can communicate the state of things quickly.  ‘Okay’ say a whole lot, without really saying anything at all.  There are very few words in the English language with such versatility and diversification.  Functioning as a noun, verb, adjective, adverb and even an interjection at times, it gets around like… someone who gets around a lot.

This should have been my first clue that everything is not ‘okay’, but like most, it hide in my vocabulary in plain sight.  “I’m okay!”, “OK, great!”, “Is this okay?” — These were the types of uninformed statements, and misguided questions I’d ask regularly, subjecting friends, family and even strangers to sheer hypocrisy.  Not only was I informing people I’m ‘adequate’, ‘unexceptional’, and ‘lazy’ (when texting it), I was being insincere.  I really didn’t think much of this ‘loose’ word, but a good friend of mine brought to my attention the true disingenuousness of the ‘okay’, or ‘ok’ or simply ‘k’ as the kids often text– There’s something definitely wrong with the word if people are dropping some of the most important letters… O-ay! Ay-O! As Mr. Micelli would say when something was a miss….

What’s wrong with Okay, you wonder?  Take these random statements:

  1. That’s a great idea.
  2. I’m sorry I’m late, I’ll be there in an hour.
  3. You look amazing.
  4. I don’t feel good.
  5. I didn’t hear you.
  6. I’d rather be fishing.
  7. All things considered, you were right.

Add Okay to the beginning, or end of those statements.  The seemingly positive tone changes completely whether it’s ‘okay’ ‘ok’, or ‘k’, it ends up being a verbal, or literal slap in the face.  This dastardly word threatens the fabric of good conversation and communication, and no longer will I stand for it.  Everything is not okay, and I’m ok with that.

