The Greatest Trick The Devil Ever Pulled 3

by The Writer

The Greatest Trick The Devil Ever Pulled 3: The Long Con

Having assumed The Devil would return for a last showdown, I was shocked and relieved we hadn’t crossed paths for a while.  In my weakened state I figured the best time for him to strike would’ve been now, ‘the present moment’.  Preparing for The Devil’s arrival, I armed myself with what little patience, and humility I had remaining.  I believed it would’ve been his biggest and final attempt to assume control of me, my soul or whatever it was he desired: because of his ethereal nature, I was still ‘in the dark’ about what his pursuit was all about…  But I was about to find out.

Toiling deep in the depths of the frontline, I continued serving wave after wave of glazed-eyed visitors while waiting for The Devil to show.  Becoming increasingly impatient, I grew more angry inside.  I called out for help and waited, but no one came.  Again, the thought that ‘God had forsaken me’, echoed in my mind.  I continued waiting and serving, becoming more irritated by the very people I was serving.  My reserve of humility and patience diminished–  No longer was I of service to others; I became a destructive force to them.  Consumed with the rage building inside, I crossed the threshold into contained wrath, but I was unaware of the shift.  Again I called out for help.  Nothing.  Infuriated at the injustice, I lost all control and spun into a rage of pure self loathing.

Believing it was a ploy to weaken me further, I cranked up the humility, but it was all just for show.  Preparing to fight when The Devil didn’t even show made me feel as though I wasted both my humility and patience.  “These are useless gifts”, I exclaimed, storming out of the heated atmosphere at the end of the day.  Placing my ’employee keys’ in the locker, I looked at them with contempt.  I hated them– They were a symbol of slavery to a customer service nightmare I lived day after day.  Although I know all work is God’s work, secretly I believed the work I was doing was completely shameful for someone of my status… But, I also believed if I did this work I considered beneath me, I would remain humble– And for me, to remain humble meant the rejection of financial abundance, as it might rob me of my humility.

Unbeknownst to me The Devil used the very thing I prided myself on not only to keep me locked in a state of shame for years, but also to hide the ‘keys to the kingdom’, in plain sight no doubt.  He used my fear of losing humility to keep me away from the greatest reward of all…

Indeed this was the greatest trick The Devil ever pulled, and just as I began to applaud his crafty genius, I heard a humble yet powerful voice calling to my spirit…

