The Question

by The Writer

He Said, She Hears

I can’t give much in the way of dating advice, but what I can offer is relationship advice.  Having been in a handful of longterm relationships, there are certain things that occur which can often create turmoil– There’s no way to avoid them either.  First and foremost, the best advice I can offer is NEVER date a writer.  Most writer’s mean what they say, and say what they mean, then write about it later.  Using a standard situation that has the potential to create turmoil, I’ll show a writer’s approach…

The Significant Other: Does this make me look fat?

The Writer: How can a women like you look fat in anything?

The Significant Other: You didn’t answer the question.

The Writer: I don’t believe you’re capable of looking fat.

The Significant Other: You think I look fat, don’t you!

The Writer: (smiling) Who are you trying to look skinny for? Your judgemental friends, or some new guy at work?

The Significant Other: I’m trying to look skinny for you– I just think I look fat.

The Writer: You look more beautiful today, than the day I met you.

Now some may look at this example and think ‘The Writer’ craftily avoided a bad situation by evading the question.  However, The Writer answered the real question head-on.  Responding with a ‘yes’, not only amplifies the ‘insecurity’, but also only focuses on the exterior beauty.  Responding with a ‘no’, again focuses on the exterior beauty and doesn’t reinforce any love, and may actually be a lie created to avoid a sticky situation.   Inside of intimate relationships, significant others approach their partners with their insecurities with hope (consciously & subconsciously) they will reciprocate with some security.

Although I’ve toyed with the idea of a new blog, this is all the real ‘advice’ I can offer in relationships.  I can’t even recall where I heard this gem– Either way, I’m not an expert.  Furthermore, I know this situation can work the same way with female writers too, but I’m too afraid to date one.

