What Goes Up and Never Comes Down?

by The Writer

A Little Older, & A Little Wiser

I don’t feel older. I don’t look older. But walking down memory lane, reflecting on the events that led me to this day makes me think otherwise.  Some people attempt to avoid the inevitable birthday at all costs, and claim to be turning an age already passed.  Others embrace the upward climb, or the descend down with a little more class and style.  At this moment, I’m somewhere in the middle.  I like to believe I haven’t any issues with aging however, when in the company of a younger generation the not so subtle clues begin to appear.  Making reference to shows ‘Wok with Yan’, or ‘Pasquale’s Kitchen, or anything from the 80’s or 90’s seems to be met with a ‘how old are you?’ question.  I’m comfortable with my age, and look forward to the adventure that awaits.  Having a day to reflect on the choices I’ve made up to this date (even the bad ones) makes me feel ageless.  Perhaps the real purpose for celebrating the day I was born is to celebrate the choices I’ve made and the life I’ve chosen to live.

Experience is simply the name we give our mistakes. ©Oscar Wilde

