Good Friday III

by The Writer

Fateful Friday

This is my 3rd ‘Good Friday’ post. I can’t decide if it’s fate, or habit. I wonder how many times have I sat here and wrote these words you’re reading right now?

According to some scientists the universe is approximately 13.8 Billion years old, the earth, only 4.54 Billion years. It’s estimated that mankind is only 1.8 million years old.  The average lifespan for a human being is approximately 80 years (depending on where you live). Although it hasn’t been proven, most believe there’s a cyclical nature to life, a never-ending loop.  Whether I’ve repeated myself a few thousand times, or you’re reading this for the first time, in either case, its quite miraculous. The follow up question is, “What comes next?”.

If only it were possible to see beyond the line of time to the curve ahead that brings me back to the start. I can’t help but make striking connections to how fate plays it’s hand as I try to live in multiple worlds (fictional and non-fictional).  Swiss psychoanalyst and theoretician Carl Jung suggests that when an inner situation is not made conscious, it happens outside, as fate. That is to say, suppressing conflict within your subconscious, the world naturally seeks balance and must manifest the conflict for an individual to deal with consciously. Therefore, if all aspects of the psyche, especially the darker impulses are not engaged, the universe will create circumstances to bring them to the light: The divided psyche must be dealt sooner or later to move from a state of inner chaos to peace.

As I dig deep into these fictitious character’s I’ve created, craft their story, and decide their fate. I can’t help but wonder if they know mine. Perhaps in exchange for giving life, they offer a glimpse of what’s to come for me.

